About Farish Printing
This 18th century structure provides a rare perspective on commercial operations in Colonial America. This building was constructed as a purely commercial enterprise and was never intended to be lived-in as a residential dwelling. It is unique in that it was a commercial building, and it has been preserved remarkably well. Most commercial structures from the 18th century have been lost, and in America as a whole, not many still stand. Seeing this, 18th Century commercial structure, preserved as well as it has been; is truly a special gift for Port Royal.
The primary use for this building that housed the Farish Print Shop (which opened in 1921), was as a tavern. Two structures were built here in 1750 and 1760. The commercial structure was built around 1750, and was possibly first used as a tavern. Lot 33, where Farish Printing stands today, was first owned by William Buckner. In 1815 William Roy and wife Hannah Roy conveyed Lot 33 to Philip Care. William S. Quesenberry owned half of Lot 33 in 1826, succeeded by his wife Elizabeth in 1845, and by George Washington Catlett in 1846. In 1866 a general store was erected next to the tavern. In 1909 Eliza Catlett sold the brick general store to William Carter, and the tavern-structure to Robert Farish, who opened the print shop tere in 1921.
–About Courtesy of “Hidden Village: Port Royal, Virginia 1744 – 1981” by Ralph Emmett Fall